Facebook Freedom

It’s been about a week without facebook now. It took a couple of days to break the habit of clicking on the app on my phone. I had deleted the app along with my account, and yet still my finger would instinctively search for it whenever there was an empty moment, or a desire to procrastinate. The first time I actually missed it was today. I was looking at an interesting article and thought my sister would appreciate it so went to post it on her wall… which is when I remembered I can’t do that anymore. Still, no big deal, I can phone her and tell her about it instead!

All in all, so far it’s been positive. I have found myself being far more productive, and when I’m too tired to be productive, spending time doing more interesting things – like talking to people, or watching a movie, or playing games. Not getting wrapped up in other people’s business, becoming worked-up about others responses or lack of them, mindlessly scrolling down screens, and generally wasting time. It’s also led to more conversations with people. On several occasions someone has said to me “Oh there is “x” on my facebook wall you should go have a look at it” and my reply is “Oh I don’t have facebook anymore, so I guess I can’t look” so they proceed to tell me about said video, article, life event etc., instead. Honestly the whole thing feels like a weight off my shoulders.

This week I am planning to sort through my clothes and give away the things that no longer fit me, and things I no longer want/need. Less clothes means less laundry, less putting away, and less cramped wardrobes and draws. I’ll let you know how it goes – I have a feeling this will be a hard one!

One Comment on “Facebook Freedom”

  1. Amanda Hallas says:

    Great stuff. Be blessed. And do you know what? The fewer things you have in your wardrobe the more monetary value you get from each wearing. Now that’s good stewardship. The scary thing is the “one off” items such as wedding attire, where the cost of wearing garments for just one day equals the total cost of the outfit. Things worn daily probably cost a few shillings each time they are worn.


Leave a Reply

