2014 – Slimming Down

I have decided to slim down my life this year, less social media, only reading one book at a time, follow less blogs, get rid of things and clutter, cut down commitments to the things I am actually committed to – you get the idea. My hope is that in slimming life down I’ll have more time for the most important things in life, and more time to grow into the person I am supposed to be. By slimming down it will take a lot less time and energy to stay on top of things and to stay organised – think of all that saved stress! If I don’t have to be stressed about simply getting through each day then I can start enjoying my moments more and I hope I can have more time and energy to give away to others.

I normally have a one word for the year. In 2013 my word was rest, and I did learn some lessons, but it wasn’t my most successful word yet. I don’t know why. This year I haven’t got a word yet – and I’m not stressing about it – maybe it will find me at some point, or maybe not. Either way it doesn’t matter.

I started my slimming down journey yesterday by deleting my Facebook account. I’ve been talking about taking the plunge for ages, and finally I took a deep breath and just jumped right in (or out). Why do I need Facebook? I can talk with people close by, and those further afield I can email with. If people don’t want to do that then frankly maybe it’s time to let them go.
I can see the benefit already. This morning rather than scrolling through Facebook to see what people had been up to – I got up! And now instead of wasting time reading status’ I’ve actually found time to blog.
Don’t fret – I am still on twitter, and have no plans to leave that any time soon.

I hope to blog occasionally about how my slimming down journey is going and if it’s proving to be worth it or not.

How about you? What are you hoping for in 2014?

4 Comments on “2014 – Slimming Down”

  1. Stacey Redpath says:

    such a good and brave idea. Makes me think…. xxx

    Date: Wed, 1 Jan 2014 12:35:46 +0000 To: redpathstacey@hotmail.com

    • EJ Reading says:

      It’s taken me a LONG time to work up to leaving facebook…. in the end I just had to do it without much warning. Like the first jump into a cold swimming pool!

  2. Amanda says:

    So glad that I am not missing out on your blogs.

    I too left Fb several weeks ago, chiefly because of the second lot of advances from a sinister Facebook troll. Not sure why or how these nasty men find me but clearly implementing optimum security does not stop people sending you a private message. Do I believe random strange men keep stumbling across a 67 year old married woman and believe they are meant to have a relationship with her? Noooooo!

    Coming off has been totally refreshing and has done three things:

    1. Given he more time 2. Made me focus more on face to face relationships and emails 3. Freed me from innuendos and politics. Fb can be highly tactical, especially when people want to make statements or are looking for specific responses. Not sure I like the way some people share sensitive or personal information publicly

    The downside is potentially losing contact with people I know and love, especially when they are on the other side of the world, but clearly I can still keep up with your blogs. I would hate to have missed your epic 31 blogs, which were so moving.

    Life for us has been incredibly weird; ending up in an unplanned house move to Upton. I guess God must be in it somewhere. Certainly having a low maintenance garden will free us up to travel. We are even wondering whether to go out to Bethel for a year but propose to start with a shorter visit first.

    Praying your health stabilises so that you can return to your much loved land and continue your amazing ministry.

    I have a word for you……not your word, but hopefully relevant. It is rise! Don’t know what it means though.

    Be blessed, rest, be restored and rise!

    Much love, Amanda

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • EJ Reading says:

      It’s good to hear the positive effect it’s had on you. I’ve never met anyone (other than teenage kids who are just not allowed) that’s not on facebook and who wishes they were. But I’ve met many people who are one it who wish they weren’t! Seems like a no brainer to me.

      Hope this year work out for you – it’s always exciting and yet a little scary when God takes us places we hadn’t planned for. I’d love to hear about your trip to Bethel once you’ve made it!


Leave a Reply

