#25 Life in Afghanistan :: Together

It’s time for Five Minute Friday again. We link up with Lisa-Jo and write for 5 minutes unedited on a prompt.

This month I’m combining FMF with my 31 Days series.

FMFmeets31

My laptop charger seems to have broken and my back-up one is buried in amongst the boxes of stuff taken out of the kitchen that’s being stripped and re-done. So I’m attempting to do FMF on my phone, sorry it’s not pretty, sorry if it has a ton of mistakes, sorry if it’s super short.

Together

IMG_1287

 

I admired Razma’s* headscarf, said I had been looking for one just like it. Razma is one of the first afghans I ever met, she’s my language teacher, she taught me to communicate and behave in Afghanistan.

“I will show you the shop, and get a good price. We will go together!” I accepted her invite and the next day we went together, and we laughed together, and we enjoyed time together.

I sat in my lesson that day and tears rolled down my cheeks, I had been holding them in all day, but With Razma I felt comfortable and they came spilling out. “It’s been a year today since she died. I miss her very much. My heart still hurts.” I confess. She clasps my hands in hers “She was a very kind girl. And so very happy. I am sad too.” We talked that lesson about the pain of grief, about the hope of heaven, about the bitterness of death. We cried together, we remembered together, we grieved together.

Together is better. Together is stronger. Together is how we are supposed to do life. All of life, the laughing and the crying, the beautiful and the ugly, the easy and the hard – we were made to do it all together.

*Names changed to protect identities

This is part of the 31 Days series.
Click the button to find my other posts.

31_days_afg_2

2 Comments on “#25 Life in Afghanistan :: Together”

  1. […] Day Twenty Five :: Together (Five Minute Friday meets 31 Days… we face life together) […]

  2. Laurie Avery says:

    That’s my language teacher too! I just skyped with her last week!


Leave a Reply

