Five Minute Friday :: Worship

Time for Five-Minute Friday, which seems all I have time for these days! Hope over to Lisa-Jo’s place if you want to know more, and why not join in?

5-minute-friday-1

 

Worship

 

I’ve been thinking about worship a lot recently. We call our singing worship. When we say worship that’s what most of us would think of straight away. Our singing, though, it seems to me is often the most pathetic form of worship. We stand, or sit, together in that room, singing words on a screen, letting them roll off our tongues, and feeling good because everyone else is doing the same. We lift our hands high to show we really mean it, and we tell of how much we love God, the Christ. In that room surrounded by others, maybe 10, maybe 1000, we do mean it. We love Yahweh, the God who created us, saved us, loves us, helps us. We look at the lives of those surrounding us, and we remember the stories, the ways in which God has intervened, sustained, held on; and we praise and we love.

But then

It’s over

That service where we are safe, surrounded by a Christian bubble, the sound of other people singing along with us is quiet, and we’re left alone in the world. Singing the tune of love alone, while others curse, and tear down, and hate. Now we have to love because we really love, not because we’re caught up in the bubble. Our love has to be more than a sweet song, it has to be actions.

Syria_Matt25

Our worship, our adoration of God needs to be more than a song. It needs to be my Monday morning joy as the alarm rings so early to start another week; and my Tuesday coffee break compassion as I pass by that homeless guy; and my Wednesday afternoon forgiveness as my boss expects me to stay late, again, without a please or a thank you; and my Thursday evening move to action as I see the child beaten by his mother; and my Friday late night resolve to be pure as others go out drinking and having sex; and my Saturday day off selflessness and serving, instead of claiming my time all for myself. If my worship can be all that, if my week can consist of loving God in my actions of the everyday, if my hours shout out my love of God, THEN, then, on Sunday, when I come into His house, and I lift my hands, and I sing out those words, I sing with commitment, I sing not because of the bubble, but because I am truly in love, I sing knowing my song will ring out once I’ve walked out the door and the darkness surrounds. Then my worship is full.

 

*I think corporate sung worship is great, please don’t get me wrong.

 

2 Comments on “Five Minute Friday :: Worship”

  1. hannahjiejie says:

    This is fantastic… I love it. Yes, our lives should tell the story of lives redeemed every single day.

  2. Al A. Mccoy says:

    The LORD your God in the middle of you is mighty; he will save, he will rejoice over you with joy; he will rest in his love, he will joy over you with singing.


Leave a Reply

