Five Minute Friday : Beloved

5-minute-friday-1

This week’s topic is:

BELOVED

GO

“What is your name, my beautiful child?”
“But God, you know my name… don’t you?”
“What is your name?”
“E***** Janan”
“Janan, that is what I call you. You are my Janan.”

My mind wandered back to all those years ago. Those years where I stood as a toddler in that nursery. A nursery in a foreign land, teachers unable to wrap their tongues around the sound of my name. The scooped me up in their arms one day and smiled. We will call you ‘Janan'”.
And so it stuck, from that day forward more and more people called me Janan, including my own mother. I introduced myself to people as Janan, and to those who shared my white skin I would double barrel my name.

My mind skipped forward a few years. We were on a ferry boat, sitting outside, wind blowing through my hair. She turns to look at me and starts a conversation:

“Your name is so beautiful.”“Thanks”
“You know the word in English right? You know what it means?”
“It’s just a name.”
“No, it’s not. Your name in English is ‘Beloved’.”
“Beloved?”
“Yes, loved, from the soul, beloved.”
“That’s beautiful.”

My God speaks into the memories dragging my back to the present.
“That’s right my child. I call you Janan. I call you beloved. You are my beloved.”
My heart melts and I stay there in that moment for a while. Silent. Soaking in those words.

STOP

 

 

12 Comments on “Five Minute Friday : Beloved”

  1. Oh, I love that “loved from the soul.” And that is your name! :) Beautiful.

  2. Sue Lindsay says:

    Beloved, blessed and beautiful :)

  3. Mia says:

    Oh, Janan
    I am glad know your name now! My name, Mia, means , My Own, and He has often times reminded me that I am His own. This is an amazing blessing.
    Much love
    Mia

    • EJ Reading says:

      Wow! What a special meaning. “My own”. So beautiful. I love names and their meanings, and I think it’s so important when we’re naing out children. After all there name is what is spoken over them the whole time.

  4. Stefanie says:

    How absolutely precious! You are absolutely precious!
    Thank you for sharing this story. I simply can’t stop smiling:)

  5. That is awesome!! I can see why people called you that! You are Beloved!


Leave a Reply

