Five Minute Friday : Wonder

It’s time for Five Minute Friday with Lisa-Jo and all the other wonderful people who link up over there. 5 minutes writing, no editing, no over thinking, just plain writing from the heart, at stupid o’clock.

This week’s prompt is….

Wonder

GO

I’ve used that word in my head a lot this week “Wonder” I’m left wondering.

I wonder in good ways and in bad ways. Some wonder is because of grief, or confusion, or a lack of understanding. Other wonder is simple the inability to take in the awesomeness, or depth, or weight of the moment.

I wonder why things didn’t go as planned. I wonder if things will go as I hope. I wonder why I am ill again, when all I have done is give Him praise, when all seemed to be going so well, when the timing couldn’t seem to be worse. I wonder about it all. I know My God is in control, I know He will make beauty out of it, and I trust Him in that, but I wonder why it must be like this, and I wonder where it is going.

I wonder if Jesus really did descend to hell. It seems a little like a void point to many, but for me, now, in the moment, it is so very important. Did God’s own son go to hell? Does he understand that pain of watching the one you love go there? I wonder at the things I may never know the answer to, the mysteries of God.

I think upon the sacrifice God made as he became man, Emmanuel, Jesus, and lived here on this earth. I think upon the rootless, homeless, life he lived. I think of the suffering endured each day, culminating in hanging on that cross. I think about His grace, His mercy, His plan of redemption. I think upon my life and the ways in which he has turned it, shaped it, moulded it into beauty. I wonder at it all, all the awesomeness, and holiness, and beauty.

I wonder at so much, and yet it is only Him that causes me to wonder in silence, for there are no words to describe all that He is to me, and all that He has done for me.

STOP

12 Comments on “Five Minute Friday : Wonder”

  1. corifraser says:

    don’t ever stop wondering. it leads to moving and changing and growing… well said, my friend!

    • EJ Reading says:

      When I got baptized the person who prayed for me once I was in the water prayed that my inquisitive mind would never be satisfied, and never stop wondering and asking questions :) … It think it’s fair to say that prayer was answered with a “yes”!

  2. c4faith says:

    That wonder leaves me in silence (and awe) sometimes, too. Thanks for this open and honest five minutes.

  3. lonistel says:

    Yes, the wonder we can’t even fathom – the wonder to someday behold Him! WOW!

    http://wp.me/p97XK-4rw

  4. Mia says:

    Yes, I don’t think our finite minds can understand what our Lord did for us. There is truly no words to describe it. Thanks for the naked honesty of your words!
    Bless you
    Mia

  5. Ms. Kathleen says:

    So much to ponder and our God is so amazing… Beautifully stated :)

  6. Stefanie says:

    I love your wondering heart:)) It is difficult to believe the Creator of the universe descended so we could one day ascend! What a Savior!


Leave a Reply

