Five Minute Friday : Stay

It’s Friday. Time to write for 5 mins flat, no editing, no over-thinking with Lisa-Jo and so many others. Click the button to find out more,and to join in!

Ok this weeks topic is….

STAY

GO

I think back to the time when God said to me “I know you will go for me, but are you also willing to stay?”

I had been back in my passport country for a few months deliberating what the next little bit of my life should look like. Should I go back to the country I was in, or should I go to a new one? Is it possible that I should be in my passport country for a while? Should I work, stay in full-time ministry, or go to school? I sat and a bench thinking it through, asking God to speak. “I’ll go anywhere you send me God, I’m up for anything!” I waited, and as I did, I heard those words “I know you will go for me, but are you also willing to stay?”

I realize for most people this is a no-brainer. Stay? Yes! Of course! They’d jump at the first mention. For me, a missionary kid, who was used to moving around, who thrived on change,  who hated their passport country, it made my stomach turn. Stay? That was a big ask! It took me days to get back to God on it. And eventually I had the only answer I could have “If that’s what you want of me, yes I’ll stay. For you, anything.”

Staying is difficult, allowing yourself connections, pushing through the awkwardness, allowing people to know you, trying to ignore the itch to move on. Yet staying is so valuable too. To make deep friendships, to be a part of someones life for a few years, to have consistency in your friendships, to allow your soul to be quietened.

Sometimes we need to push through the pain of the itch to move on, and stay. Press into the now, experience everything it’s offering and stay with it a while.

STOP

16 Comments on “Five Minute Friday : Stay”

  1. Mama Kautz says:

    We moved one big move. From western WA to north Idaho. staying where I am now. Moving would put me over the edge. I hate change lol

  2. Cori says:

    I think it may be time to enter the #FMF world… :) I’m bad for comments, but I’ve been loving what you have to say.

  3. Yes, staying is tough. I totally get that. I always had the desire to go to missions but God has repeatedly closed the door for that and so this season is one where I must be wiling to stay here and put down roots and live a life of normalcy when really my heart feels halfway across the globe. And it’s this place of obedience that tests me and prepares my heart to follow wherever God may lead. Loved this 5 minute write. Thank you.

    • Emilie R says:

      Thank YOU for writing back, I love that you have writing. Staying and putting down roots is where God has had me the past 18 months. It’s been hard, but oh so worthwhile. “this place of obedience that tests me and prepares my heart to follow wherever God may lead.” So important to remember. Thank you for reminding me.

  4. Stefanie says:

    I LOVE your heart!! I appreciate your willingness to go and to STAY. You inspire me to STAY right where God’s called me and to complete the work He’s called me to do.
    Love you, sweet friend!

  5. Wick says:

    Staying can certainly be the harder of the two options sometimes. But God can do great things when we do whatever we do – for Him. Thanks for the reminder!

  6. Kariss Lynch says:

    Wow it takes incredible courage to stay and invest. I’ve been there. I’m still doing it. Every day, I have to make the decision not to look for something else. Every day is a decision to find my contentment in Christ and always be ready to stay or go, depending on His command. Keep listening and keep obeying, my friend!

    • Emilie R says:

      Thank you for the encouragement to keep going. Just keep obeying each step of the way and He’ll take care of the rest, it might not be easy, but it will be worth it.
      Praying for you as you continue to stay.

  7. Sue Lindsay says:

    I think perhaps it’s all about being able to find God when you’re out of your comfort zone. Finding a way of serving and worshiping when it’s different to what you like or are used to. You are learning something really special Emilie, that will help you now and in the future. Maybe you need to look for a different revelation of God in your present circumstances, and you’ll see that all you need is in Him? I know you’re on the right track, but the only journey that matters isn’t to do with travelling to different countries, it’s about going deeper into Him and receiving more of His wonderful love. Then you’ll be utterly fulfilled. :) xx

    • Emilie R says:

      Finding God in the hard and/or uncomfortable places, so important, and brings such an intimacy. To have everything stripped back and in that place know that He is enough, He is all we need, that is so precious.

  8. Mia says:

    Hi Emily
    I am a bit late, but visiting from Lisa-Jo’s. yes, that must have quite a challenge for you! I suffer from Fibro /ME and don’t have many choices in what I can do in any given day, so I can relate to the choice you had to make! I know that if it God’s plan we will experience peace and joy, if not, we certainly won’t feel to nice!!
    Blessings
    Mia


Leave a Reply

