The Missing Conversation

Being suddenly overcome by illness is hard.

Having life turned upside down is tough. Having your family, friends, home, job, country, freedom, health, everything, ripped away from you is heart breaking. Having diagnosis upon diagnosis piled upon you is hope-sucking. Having drug after drug pumped into you is unbearable. Yet, the one saving grace, is that people KNOW it’s hard. They may not understand, and really know, the way you wish they did. But in theory they know, and you know. It’s so awful, and it’s ok to feel that, because it’s expected. It’s normal. They reassure you it’s normal the be struggling to adjust. Everyone around you knows it must be tough, and they give you grace, most of the time.

What they don’t tell you, is that, if, by some miracle of God, life turns around, and sickness leaves, that is hard too. What never gets talked about is the adjustment to being healthy.

What no-one knows, nor tries to understand, is that re-entering the world of health and energy is just as scary, complicated, confusing, and as difficult as it was leaving it in the first place.

The grace so often seems to run out if health returns, because to them, that is when life gets simple again. Only it’s not.

Over the next few days I want to share with you some of my story of how my health started to return, and how re-adjusting to being healthy can be just as hard to adjusting to being ill. I want to open up a conversation about the journey back to relative health, a discussion on the great bits, and the down right horrible parts. If you’re on this journey too, I want you to know you are not alone, there are people who understand that walking the road out of illness is as scary as walking the one into it.

Won’t you come and talk with me?

Leave me a note, let me know you’re listening, and feel free to share any of your own story. I’d love to hear it.

 

Disclaimer: I have 3 chronic illnesses. My “healthy” is not the average persons “Healthy”. I am expecting to have these 3 illnesses for the rest of my life. I am expecting that I will have times when I am very ill again. I am expecting that I will never be back to full-health. BUT I was so very ill, and now I am so well recovered, I can only call it a miracle of God. I am so very thankful. I have had to adjust to illness, and I have had to adjust to “health”.

Leave a Reply

