31 Days : Proverbs 20

Today we’re looking at Proverbs 20 in the 31 Days series.

 

31 Days in Proverbs
 

Verse 5

“Knowing what is right is like deep water in the heart; a wise person draws from the well within.”

Verse 22

“Don’t say, ‘I will get even for this wrong.’ Wait for the LORD to handle the matter.”

Learn to just let it go. So often I want to get revenge of some sort, even if it’s just a snidey word back, but I need to keep learnign to just let it God. God will handle the matter – it’s not my job.

Verse 24

“The LORD directs our steps, so why try to understand everything along the way?”

I read this chapter with my favourite 8 year-old, and as she read this verse both her mom and I laughed out loud. One of those “Ha! How appropriate” laughs. This is a HARD verse… makes me go “ouch!”. The Lord is directing my steps, sometimes I won’t understand everything that happens in the journey, and I don’t need to. I just need to TRUST.

Verse 25

“Don’t trap yourself by making a rash promise to God and only later counting the cost.”

Think. Before you promise anything think about what it will really entail and how much it will really cost. I think that most of the time we canever comprehend what the cost will be, because often God won’t do things, or use us, in the way we expected him to…. but we should make sure we are willing to pay a high cost if it is necessary before me make a promise.

In the words of that 8-year-old:

“What was your favourite verse in Proverbs 20?”

Leave a Reply

