7 Spaces – Praying throughout the day

After listening to Jen Hatmaker speak over on (in)courage about giving up stress by creating 7 “sacred spaces” in her day to pray, I felt challenged to do the same for a month.

 

I have 7 set times each day, with an alarm of my phone so I don’t forget, and a set theme to pray. Maybe just for 30 seconds, maybe for 5 or 10 mins. Whatever happens. The important thing is to pause, refocus, and remember him who created and saved me. To thank him and to give over all things to him. There are set themes you can follow I think, but I made my own. My day looks like this:

 

1) Praise

2) Commit

3) Intercede for others

4) Personal Requests

5) World issues

6) Listen

7) Confess

 

The interesting thing I have found is this:

 

By the time I have spent time Praising, committing, and interceding, and it gets around to my own requests, they don’t seem to need time dwelt on them. One I’ve recognized how good he is, committed my day and what I do to him, and shifted the focus from me onto others, my problems don’t seem to bear much weight. I list the areas I need help or inspiration in before God, but it’s normally my shortest time.

 

Let’s not give our hardships more time or energy than they deserve. Let the tears fall, but don’t let them overtake the faith. Let it hurt, then drop the pain at the cross and walk away with joy. It doesn’t mean it will stop hurting, or that it should, but maybe it will give a fresh perspective, or enough hope and strength to endure and just keep walking just for one more hour.

2 Comments on “7 Spaces – Praying throughout the day”

  1. karen says:

    ah, i just read this book! Brilliant, accessible, provoking. Thanks for sharing this and challenging me.

    • Emilie R says:

      I haven’t actually read the book… *shame face* … but I’ve been following the posts on (in)courage. I want to read it though when I can get a hold of a copy.
      Thank you for reading, friend, and leaving your thoughts.


Leave a Reply

