31 Days : Proverbs 5

31 Days in Proverbs

 

 

It was late yesterday by the time I sat down to write, and I almost did. I pulled up a blank page, and was about to write. Just a sentance or two, I had no energy to write more than that, but I had to write, I couldn’t fail. Then I stopped. I never want to write out of obligation, or out of duty. I never want to blog because I should. I want to write from my heart, I want to write honestly, and I want to write whilst being all there, I don’t want to give you my leftovers. So I didn’t write, and I didn’t count myself a failure. Instead I woke up day to treat it as a new day, and I new beginning.

 

So here we go… Day 5, Proverbs 5

 

Well this chapter seems to be all about marital faithfulness, which believe me I am ALL for. Seriously trampled on promises, and broken marriages suck for all involved. Thank God for forgiveness, grace and His healing.

 

I am single, never been married, not once, honestly! So my question is, what truths or principles are in here that I can learn? Three things I think:
1) Wisdom is important (I see a theme here!) I need to really take it on board.
2) The sin before me may look and seem wonderful, sweet, fun, and harmless; but in reality it’s not and it will end in disaster if I follow it.
3) God sees all I do, there’s no hiding from him. Scary, when I’m out to disobey him, to shame him, he’s there, he knows. Comforting, there’s nothing I’ve done he doesn’t know, nothing I need to hide from him, nothing he isn’t willing to forgive. Nothing that will stop him loving me.

 

Those are my lessons from Chapter 5.

 

 

What are yours?

Leave a Reply

