Five Minute Friday: Change

Yes! I’m back to 5 minute Fridays, and I can’t tell you how excited I am! It’s good to be back! And this week’s topic is just so apt for me!

 

Every Friday Lisa-Jo at Gypsy Mama, give us a topic to write about for 5 mins, no over-thinking, no editing, just writing for 5 mins. The aim is to set your timer, clear your head, for five minutes of free writing without worrying about getting it right.

 


There are just 3 rules They are:
1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community..

 

 

 

 
So here we go, this weeks topic is…

 

Change!

 

 

START

 

 

Change and I are not strangers. We’ve known each other for quite some time now, I was a mere two years of age when Change came into my life, forcing its way in, fiercely touching each and every aspect of my life, and refusing to leave. In fact, Change and I have known each other longer than I have known any other person, apart from the woman who bore me of course. Yet, even after all these years, Change and I have not become friends. I curse her, and I try to hide from her. She, in return, always seeks me out, thumps me on the back and scratches at my heart. Change forces me to do things I’d really rather not, I weep and cry at her to relent, but she never does. She is so persistent and aggressive, and yet, despite her violent nature, such good comes from her. I resist, and she pulls, I weep and cling, and she cheers and me pushes forward, I try to remain oblivious and she forces me to open my eyes. I’ve learnt Change will always be in my life, the cardboard boxes, the packing up, the flying-half-way-across-the-world, the unpacking and greeting new faces, all that ensures Change will always stick with me. Change never says goodbye, and Change never leaves.

 

I’ll never be friends with Change, but I’ve learnt to embrace her for what she brings me. Change will never be friends with me, for she’s always moving me on, but she’s learnt to see the potential in me. Change and I, we’ve learnt to live in an awkward harmony, never strangers, yet never friends.

 

END

 

Why don’t you join in too? And Don’t forget to link up to Lisa-Jo’s page.

4 Comments on “Five Minute Friday: Change”

  1. Amy Tilson says:

    Thank you for sharing so honestly with your struggle over your life. I like the ending about living in awkward harmony. That is such a perfect way to describe that relationship. Glad you have re-joined us.

    • Emilie R says:

      Thanks Amy. I move around A LOT, and though I get bored if I’m settled for too long, still a big part of me hates the constant change, and a small part of me find the idea of settling down for the rest of my years appealing.

  2. Denise says:

    I appreciate your honest heart.

    • Emilie R says:

      Oh thank you Denise, it’s so hard to just write honestly from your heart isn’t it? I feel naked and I get scared about how people will judge me. But I hope that somewhere someone will read what I have written and be encouraged in some teeny tiny way, and I guess that gives me just enough courage.


Leave a Reply

