Five Minute Friday – Path

My brain is very fuzzy these days, and one of the last things I feel like doing today is writing, and I feel like I’m 100% lost for inspiration. For that reason I wasn’t going to do the link up today, but then I thought, well that’s kinda one of the points of this. To write, when we don’t want to, to write, when we don’t have the inspiration, to write, even if the result isn’t great or what we would hope for.

 

So here I am, midnight (so technically Saturday I guess… but it’s still Friday in the States!), about to do my 5 mins, because that’s what we do round here, and that’s what Lisa-Jo encourages us to do.

 

Why not join in the link up? You can get to GypsyMama here.
Lets remind ourselves of the rules:

 

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community..

 

The weeks prompt is: “Path”

 

Ready?
GO

 

They say your life is a path. From a young age you’re told to think about the “path” you’re on. Think about how your actions will effect the path you go down. Choose your subjects at school wisely, behave well, be kind, etc etc. Choose a career path. When you find the “one” work out what path you’re on together, marriage, kids, the timing of it all.

 

This path, though it has different stages, it’s called life, and from what I hear it seems to be pretty important. But what no-one tells you when you’re young is that you can make all the right choices, you can do all the loving things, you can live by the rule book, but that doesn’t guarantee you a place on a smooth path, it doesn’t even guarantee you that your path will lead where you had hoped.

 

We’re on this path, and it’s stretching out in front of us, none of us really have any idea where it’s leading, or what it will pass on the way. I just know there’s only one decision that really matters, only one choice that is really of any significance. That is the one of faith. Will I choose God? Will I choose to trust Him? Will I choose to believe in Jesus, that He is God and that he died for me? Will I choose to accept the power of the cross, my forgiveness, saving grace for me? That’s the decision that matters, because that one choice, that’s the choice that will affect where my path ends, and that choice, it’s the only one with a guaranteed outcome one way or the other.

 

So I finish by saying, this path of life we’re all on. Let’s contemplate that one choice, and make it wisely. Will we know Jesus as our saviour? And then let’s remember that the other choices, they’re not really ours to make, and we don’t really control what route our path takes. Let’s leave those choices up to God, and let’s taste the freedom in that.

 

END

 

Ok there were my five minutes. I’m glad I did them. If you don’t have a blog why don’t you join in anyway? Write in our journal, or the back of your shopping list, or scribble it on a piece of scrap paper. Try it and see.

Leave a Reply

