Five Minute Friday: Together

 

It’s Friday! Round here we like to write for just five minutes on a friday. No over-thinking, no backtracking, no editing. Just the freedom to write, for five minutes. Then we link up to Gypsy Mama’s blog and read others peoples posts. Why don’t you join us?

 

This week’s topic is: Together
… Are you ready?

 

START

 

Together seems like an unattainable ideal to me, at least in my life. I see others around me in their togetherness and I find myself envious. Friends – together, Colleagues – together, Families – together. All of them in their various forms are together, talking, working, eating, living, creating memories; together. How I wish I was a part of that.
Yet for me, for more of my life than not, my life has been marked by distance, and by un-togetherness. A family spread across three continents spanning 10’s of thousands of miles, friends in every corner of the globe, colleagues so far scattered it’s hard to comprehend how we manage to do anything worthwhile. I long for “together”, to know the warmth of a relatives arm around me, to hear the voice of a loved friend and have their shoulder to rest my tear-streaked face on, to sit down over coffee and discuss project ideas and read the face of colleagues not just hear their well thought-out, edited, reactions. Oh, how my heart longs for that. And the sweet moments when together does happen, oh how I treasure it. Those sweet moments, and those special memories made. I guess I can thank my un-together life for teaching me never to take together for granted, but to cherish each second of it.

 

Together is more, however, than just a physical reality. Together can be spiritual and emotional too, and that togetherness is what keeps us close. I may have lived most of my life with family and friends spread as far as possible, physically we may well be very un-together, but that matters little, for spiritually we hold each other, emotionally we stand shoulder to shoulder. We walk this life together, through prayer, through conversation across the miles, through the short physical togethers that we have. Together in our un-togetherness, we do life. And I know I could not live this life alone, but only together, with others.

 

END

 

I look forward to hearing what you have to say on together, or un-together.

2 Comments on “Five Minute Friday: Together”

  1. My heart echoes your cry for togetherness. We live in such an un-together world. Keep hanging onto the together moments and making new togetherness where you are. And remember that the un-togetherness points us to eternity.

    • Emilie R says:

      “un-togetherness points us to eternity” Yes, this. Thank you for that reminder, and the reminder to create new togetherness wherever I find myself. So hard and uninviting sometimes, but so important.


Leave a Reply

