Heartache

“At your name I know the heartache is over, I know the rest I seek is at the cross”

 

I sing it out along to the CD in my car, my heart sighs, “the rest I seek is at the cross”. How long has that being going round my mind, how long has that been turning over and over in my heart, how long have I been battling that truth. To find my rest at the cross. To stop, be still, and know that Jesus is king, and that he has done it, that “It is finished”.

 

 

But that’s not what troubles me. It’s the first part “at your name I know the heartache is over” that really gets me.To me it so often seems that at His name the heartache is just beginning. I remember many dear friends.

 

The child not knowing where home is… for His name’s sake.

The teenage girl who gave up her love… for His name’s sake.

The young man who moved away from his loving family… for His name’s sake.

The intelligent lady, career-less, poor… for His name’s sake.

The middle-aged woman who is single… for His name’s sake.

The father tortured because of what he believed… for His name’s sake.

The woman widowed… for His name’s sake.

The life-loving man, dead… for His name’s sake.

 

He even says it himself… the world’s going to hate you, don’t be surprised when you face trials for me, know that you will be persecuted, you’ll be rejected, feel like an alien, be in a constant struggle with yourself. Get ready to sacrifice it all. 

 

So you see… I find it difficult to see how, “at his name the heartache is over”. 

 

But each coin has two sides. 

 

Blessed are the… poor in spirit, mourners, meek, seekers of righteousness, merciful, pure in heart, peacemakers, persecuted. They know God, know what it is to be deep and intimate with Him, know what it is to be fulfilled by Him. 

 

“At his name the heartache is over” He comforts, He gives strength to endure, He has the victory, He gives peace, He restores.

 

I’d love to hear your thoughts on this one friends. Drop me a comment or an email.  

Leave a Reply

